Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 21st, 2010

21.08.10 – Emma, Max and I were heading out on a Saturday afternoon with something to kill, time. Time, always precious but such a fun thing to waste! I was telling the kids, one thing I’ve learned in Helsinki is it’s almost best not to have plans when you head out.

It’s common at the start of my day to worry about what I’ll do with so much free time. I get anxious when I’m not sure how I’ll spend my time. Finland is so new to me almost everything is exciting. I can’t think of a day that’s gone by where I haven’t discovered something new and fun to do. It can be as simple as a new park or street I stumble across or something more time-consuming like visiting one of the islands across off the coast or one of the many museums available.

One thing I’m learning to appreciate about my new home country is their sense of art and style. There are beautiful sculptures, old and new, sprinkled throughout the city. The architecture is amazing, not all of it designed by Finns, ranging from Nordic Classicism to Art Nouveau (“Jugend”) to National Romanticism, it’s all over the map and all good. Finland’s also known for their graphic artists, world-class and world-renowned, and samples of their work are everywhere. Helsinki was recently voted the World Design Capital for 2012.

I might have some interesting posts coming up this week because there’s a special event going on in Helsinki called Art Goes Kappaka which translates to Art Goes to the Pub. Maybe an excuse to go out and have a cold one ;)

Art, especially Finnish art, is a beautiful thing.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

