Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 5th, 2010

05.09.10 – I moved to another temporary apartment, once again.

I’ve moved enough in my life to know the process, although familiar, is not always easy to deal with. At least for me, there comes a period when the honeymoon, the initial excitement of being in some place completely new, is over and you haven’t quite settled into your comfort zone with a day-to-day routine. A day-to-day routine of going to work, taking care of business and then finding yourself in your home with all of your “things” and your loved ones recharging your batteries before you do the whole thing again the next day.

I think most people dread the day-to-day routine but the grass is always greener on the other side. A year ago I was thinking “I need a change, I’m bored” and now I’m thinking “I miss my stuff and I’m tired of moving.” Never fails.

All of a sudden I’ve become discombobulated. It seems like I’m always just missing something. I have been settling into a “quasi” routine; finding a coffee shop in the morning, looking at apartment websites, picking up the kids after school, finding my way to apartment open houses.

dis·com·bob·u·late

–verb (used with object),-lat·ed, -lat·ing.

to confuse or disconcert; upset; frustrate: The speaker was completely discombobulated by the hecklers.

Origin:

1825–35, Americanism; fanciful alter. of discompose or discomfort

—Related forms

dis·com·bob·u·la·tion, noun
Lately I’ve been missing appointments, going to the wrong address, jumping on the wrong tram. Last Wednesday I was going to an apartment viewing and I quickly checked the address on my phone but when no one showed up at the spot, I found out I went to the rental agencies office instead of the location of the apartment. Friday, Max and I jumped on a tram to go to a special photography tour at a harbor area which is usually closed to the public. We arrived five minutes late! Missed the whole thing because… well, Finns are very punctual. Today I received a “where are you?” phone call from someone showing an apartment. I thought it was two hours later.
Ok, I’ll be the first to admit, in general I can be a tad bit discombobulated but it’s driving me crazy right now. I need to bump it up a notch ;)

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

