Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 9th, 2010

09.09.10 – My second day dealing with customs was a little less eventful so I was out the door and on the road by noon. I had a tourist map from the day before so I decided to checkout Hanko in hopes there was more to this city then the boring section of the freight harbor. A number of areas on the map were listed as “War Memories”, remnants of the town’s history as a “front line” during WWII. There wasn’t much to see, probably the most interesting is a Front Line Museum located just before you arrive in Hanko. I did stop at a Soviet memorial to Russian soldiers that died there, a small cemetery for 50 men. I took some “back roads” before hitting the main route to Helsinki which was a nice, quiet drive along the coast. The ocean was on one side and on the other side, dense birch tree forests.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

