Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 14th, 2011

14.01.11 - Why did I start blogging? Why I’m glad you asked :) Keeping up a daily blog is no easy chore. I find myself thinking “why?” at least a couple of times a week.

I like to think this type of question is “poetic.” On the one hand, I could answer the question with one simple response, I was looking for something to do. On the other hand, when I have the time to dig deeper, I see there are a number of reasons, past and present, why starting a blog was the right thing to do.

Something to do? I started my blog right after moving to Finland with my family. I was leaving everything which was familiar to me for a country I knew very little about. I can still remember landing in Amsterdam on a layover, getting off the plane and trying to find something to do before my next flight to Helsinki. I found myself desperately searching for an internet connection so I could at least tap into something familiar; Facebook, Gmail, anything. The sense of structure in my life, my phone number, my home address, my group of friends and coworkers, had just dissipated in less than a day. The void was almost overwhelming.

What do you do? The only thing you can do, you start rebuilding. The day-to-day exercise of keeping a blog was just the type of structure I could use at the time. The thought of having a daily routine was comforting. I was already pulling my iPhone out to capture all the new and interesting sights of Helsinki and I wanted to share them with my family and friends abroad. So, I started this blog ;)

Now I can dig a bit deeper. I’ve always enjoyed photography, travel and telling stories which are the three key ingredients to my blog. My first camera was a Kodak Instamatic X 15 which my dad brought back from a business trip when I was in the 6th grade. You had to choose your shots wisely because getting a roll of film developed cost about a weeks worth of money made from delivering newspapers.

My first “real” camera was a Canon A-1 I bought overseas when I was in the Navy, which was also when I first started travelling. Ok, the military isn’t exactly the best way to travel but I was a sucker for the recruiting campaigns, “Join the Navy, See the World.”  I used that baby to take pictures from vultures row on the USS Carl Vinson to the St. Pauli district in Hamburg, Germany.

The next big step was buying my first computer, a Macintosh Quadra 660AV. I started playing with page layout programs, like Aldus Pagemaker, putting text and images together to make short stories to send to my family back in Ohio. My favorite story involved a trek/climb up Mt. Whitney in California with a couple of friends. My family loved it but it was still a pain to publish and print so the stories were few and far between.

Blogging with WordPress has helped me get past the pain of print. It’s still a challenge to come up with ideas but it I’ve now been able to publish more often. I think I have a small group of people who appreciate the posts but I’m thankful to have an opportunity to do so.

Now, why did I post the pictures I did for this post? This is a little reason for myself to think about ;)

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers