Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 15th, 2011

15.01.11 – Long dark nights and plenty of bright white snow have a way of reducing the color palette of Finland this time of year to simple black and whites. I find myself craving color almost as much as sunlight on these winter days which are slowly growing longer.

I was out on a walk, making my way along the coastline towards the harbor, and looking for somewhere I could pop into to warm up before continuing onto the city center. The Wanha Kaupahalli, which translates to Old Market Hall, is an indoor gourmet market where you can find fresh vegetables, the best cuts of meats and even some handmade crafts. It’s also a great place to pickup a lunch of salmon soup or grab a coffee and korvapuusti, a Finnish cinnamon roll.

I spent about 10 minutes wandering through the kaupahalli taking in the vibrant colors and letting the feeling return to my fingertips.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

