Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 23rd, 2011

23.02.11 – I love taking the long way home ;) Whenever I have the time and given the option to take a slightly different route to my destination, I always opt for something new and different. I’ve been working on an idea for a business and I met with a graphic designer, Tex, who seems really cool and perfect for the project. I tend to get excited and animated when I’m talking about the project so by the time I left, I needed to “decompress.”

I decided to walk home from where we met in Katajanokka along the coast to my place in Punavuori. Once you get past the harbor, where the ships and tugs are constantly busting up trails in the ice, you get to undisturbed areas where you see more and more footprints and tracks leaving the sidewalks and out onto the ice. It was late in the day, but I had some time so I decided to divert and take the long way home.

The ice along the coast is usually full of people out for walks but at this time of the day, while the sunset was slowly changing shades of red, I was the only one. I walked out and around one of the little islands just off the coast. Once you reach the furthest point out, with the island behind you and blocking the city from view, you really get a feeling of solitude. I was still “high on life” so it was a welcome feeling. It reminded me of times when I have been camping and you stop to look around, feeling there isn’t another soul in the world, and you are content with life and loving the view.

The frozen world I was taking in at the moment could be seen by some as harsh, frozen and barren. When you look South, it really seems you can start walking in any direction because the surface is so flat and there are only a few rolling hills/islands off in the distance. The surface is smooth ice, covered with a fine layer of snow crystals which crunch underfoot. My eye was drawn to the few areas along the edge of the island where the ice had cracked and raised in sections. The red sunset was fighting a loosing battle and the world around me was becoming a beautiful blue.

Life was good in my world and I actually felt recharged from this little slice of solitude.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

